Cis Free Trade Agreement

14 Sep Cis Free Trade Agreement

The Commonwealth of Independent States Free Trade Area (CISFTA) is a free trade area between Russia, Ukraine, Belarus, Uzbekistan, Moldova, Armenia, Kyrgyzstan, Kazakhstan and Tajikistan. Five CISFTA participants, all except Ukraine, Uzbekistan, Moldova and Tajikistan, are members of the Eurasian Economic Union, which includes a single market. The Commonwealth of Independent States Free Trade Agreement, proposed since the disintegration of the Soviet Union in 1991, was signed on 18 October 2011 by Russia, Ukraine, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Moldova and Armenia. [1] The agreement replaces existing bilateral and multilateral free trade agreements between countries. Originally, the treaty was only ratified by Russia, Belarus and Ukraine[2][3] But by the end of 2012, Kazakhstan, Armenia and Moldova had also completed their ratification. [4] [5] In December 2013, Uzbekistan signed and ratified the treaty[6][7], while the other two signatories, Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan, ratified the treaty in January 2014 and December 2015 respectively. [8] [9] Azerbaijan is the only full CIS member state not to participate in the free trade area. • possibility of negotiations on freedom of transit by gas pipeline (to be concluded within six months of the date of entry into force of the CIS Free Trade Agreement); • The parties to the free trade agreement have not been able to apply other barriers to trade, except those permitted by the CIS Free Trade Agreement, for example.B. the parties have not been able to limit quantities (quotas) or other safeguard measures (e.g. .B. and epidemic) should be repealed in the territory of the CIS, unless they have been imposed as anti-dumping, protective or offsetting measures. As of 1 January 2016, Ukraine and the European Union began to provisionally apply a Deep and Comprehensive Free Trade Agreement.

On 22 December 2015, the Member States of the Eurasian Economic Union held consultations to discuss the impact of the agreement on the possible duty-free transit of goods from the EU to the EU via Ukraine. States agreed to establish, in the course of 2016, a provisional customs control regime for goods imported into the EU from Ukraine; and, in the long term, the establishment of a common information system for the control of all imports into the customs area of the European Union. [10] Nevertheless, in mid-December 2015, Russia signed a decree suspending its CIS free trade agreement with Ukraine as of January 1, 2016. [11] At the end of December, the Ukrainian government responded by adopting trade restrictions against Russia with effect from 2 January 2016. [12] Agreements between Ukraine and other EU Member States in the Free Trade Area remain in force. . . .

keine Kommentare

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.